About Us Contact Us Help




IMANE Annual Gala And General Body Meeting

Press Release

Indian Medical Association of New England, known as IMANE, held its 44th annual in person gala this year and elected a new executive committee.  Sushil Tuli, Founder and CEO of Leader Bank, served as the chief guest and keynote speaker.

The new incoming president for 2022 is Dr. Deepa Jhaveri.  Dr. Jhaveri replaces Dr. Akash Patel, whose term expired this year.  The incoming President Elect is Dr. Sonali Khond.

Outgoing IMANE president Akash Patel said “It is my honor to be part of IMANE and together we have journeyed on a path of community service & empowerment on behalf of our members, patients and community. We are incredibly grateful for the spirit that has infused our growth from the start and are thankful to all our supporters.


I have always believed that our society is best served by having diverse group of individuals with collective purpose working towards common goals. I encourage all health care professionals to work together and demand changes that are meaningful and help us to make healthcare more affordable, accessible.”


Dr. Jhaveri earned her medical school degree from Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine in Philadelphia, PA.  She completed her residency from Plantation General Hospital in Plantation, FL.  Dr. Jhaveri is board certified in American Board of Podiatry medicine and her clinical interests include diabetes, surgery and wound care.

Incoming president Dr. Deepa Jhaveri states “I am incredibly honored and humbled on being elected as the President of IMANE.  This election has been unprecedented with tremendous support from the IMANE community.  I have received unconditional love and support from Drs. Manju Sheth, who has been by my side from the start along with Drs. Pramod & Devila Shah, Dinesh Patel, Dhrumil Shah, Sapna Aggrawal, Geeta and Rajendra Trivedi and others.

I have 2 major goals for my year at IMANE-
Community Outreach such as working with various local organizations as well as Member engagement by involving current members to be more involved, while getting the word out about IMANE in the medical community at large.  I am very excited to work with my executive committee to help achieve these goals as they have already proven to be an invaluable asset to the organization.

Dr. Manju Sheth, a past President of IMANE said â€œDr. Deepa Jhaveri made history as the first Podiatrist to lead IMANE.  I admire her patience, dedication, zeal and capacity to work hard. It will help tremendously in the growth of IMANE.  My heartfelt congratulations to Dr. Jhaveri, the incoming EC and Trustees and also to Drs. Dhrumil Shah and Akash Patel for very capably steering IMANE through the tough pandemic.”

Dr. Sonali Khond works as primary care physician in Easton Massachusetts. She is board-certified in Internal Medicine. She is originally from Mumbai and has medical degree from Lokmanya Tilak Municipal Medical College, Mumbai University.  After completion of residency from New York she has been primary care provider and has been working in skilled rehabilitation facilities. She has served as assistant medical director in local rehab facility. Her primary interests are geriatrics, hypertension, diabetes, and preventive care.

The 44th general body meeting of IMANE also elected new members to its
executive committee and its Board of Trustees. 

Here is the complete list of all IMANE officers:

President: Deepa Jhaveri, DPM
Past-President: Akash Patel, MD
President-elect: Sonali Khond, MD
Secretary: Shikha Merchia, MD
Treasurer: Sanjay Aurora, MD

Members at Large:

Paul Mathew, MD
Monnie Malhotra, MD
Sailaja Reddy, MD
Smita Patel, MD

Board of Trustees:

Pramod Shah, MD, Chair of the Board of Trustees of IMANE
Rajendra Trivedi, MD
Sapna Agarwal, MD
Vikas Desai, MD
Kishore Mehta, MD

Chairman of Nominating Committee: Devila Shah, MD
ByLaws Chair: Pramod Shah, MD
YPS Representative: Open position

Bookmark and Share |

You may also access this article through our web-site http://www.lokvani.com/

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Copyrights Help