About Us Contact Us Help




NECA Awards Night Honors Outstanding Community Leaders Of New England

Nirmala Garimella

An exciting evening of inspiring award recipients, cultural entertainment, and a sumptuous  banquet highlighted the  2022 New England Choice Awards Gala in Westin Woburn  on Nov.19th 2022

Dr. Manju Sheth, MD President of INE Multimedia and creator of the awards show said” The event is very close to my heart when the entire community comes together. It is a great feeling for me to create an event like this and see the joy it brings to so many people .  I am so very happy that Katherine Clark,US Congresswoman and Assistant Speaker of the House of Representatives and Tim Ritchie,Museum of Science President have joined us tonight.We are deeply honored", she added.

The evening started with scintillating dance performances by Aakriti, in classical style who  performed dances from the film Bajirao Mastani and TV show Bandish Bandits.

Upendra Mishra.Publisher and Editor, India New England News gave an opening remark on the whole immigrant experience and how each of the awardees had their story to that was equally compelling.

Visterra President and CEO, Dr Brian Pereira and renowned nephrologist, philanthropist, community activist  was honored with the 2022 Lifetime Achievement.

This year’s NECA award recipients were: Madhu Sudan, Gordon McKay Professor of Computer Sciences at John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University; Indira Viswanathan Peterson, a leading scholar of Sanskrit, Tamil literature and South Indian cultural history and performing arts; Aman Narang, President and Co-Founder of Toast Inc., Seshi Sompuram, President of Shishu Bharati, which teaches Indian languages and culture to about 900 students each year; Dr. Nagagopal Venna, MD, Chief of the Division of Neuro-Immunology and Neuro-Infectious Diseases, Massachusetts General Hospital; Shriya Srinivasan, a MIT Postdoctoral Researcher, Incoming Assistant Professor at Harvard University, Forbes 30 Under 30 and a Biomedical Engineer.

 India Association of Greater Boston (IAGB), one of the oldest non-profit community organizations in New England was given the non profit organization award.

Young vocalist and singer Reeshabh Purohit of Berkele College of Music along with Guitarist electrified the audience with a soulful rendition of semi classical songs.

NECA this year was produced with the support of number of community sponsors: Cocoon Media, TaranaOM Creations, Sraveo, Foto Duniya, Paani Restaurant, and DJ Randeep.

The 2022 New England Choice Awards team  hosts  Anu Chitrapu, Upendra Mishra, Mandy Pant, Anupendra Sharma, Manju Sheth and Aditi Taylor presented the evening in their inimitable style.

The awards brought guests from all walks of life from community leaders, philanthropists and supporters of non profits.


Bookmark and Share |

You may also access this article through our web-site http://www.lokvani.com/

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Copyrights Help