About Us Contact Us Help




Arindam Bose Of CT Elected To NAE

Press Release

The National Academy of Engineering and president C.D. Mote, Jr. Feb. 8 announced it has elected 84 new members and 22 foreign members, including at least eight Indian American engineers.

The number of newly elected members brings NAE’s U.S. representation to 2,281 and the foreign list to 249, NAE said.

Members are elected based on their outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature, and to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/ implementing innovative approaches to engineering education, according to the academy.

Among the U.S.-based members are Indian Americans Arindam Bose, Bimal K. Bose, Jay Giri, Omkaram Nalamasu, Jagdish Narayan, Sorab Panday, Sridhar R. Tayur and George Varghese. None of the foreign members elected are of Indian origin.

Arindam Bose is a consultant in business organization, biotechnology, bioengineering and biosimilars at AbiologicsB LLC in Pawcatuck, Conn. He was elected for innovations in the manufacture of biologics and service to the professional society organizations that represent the biopharmaceutical industry.

Bimal K. Bose is a consultant and emeritus professor at the department of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville. He was chosen for contributions to advancing power electronics technology and power conversion and education.

Giri, a director of power systems technology and strategic initiatives at GE Grid Solutions of General Electric Co. in Redmond, Wash., was chosen for his contributions to utility control center technologies to enhance grid situational awareness and reliability.

Nalamasu is senior vice president and chief technology officer of Applied Materials Inc. and president of Applied Ventures LLC in Santa Clara, Calif. He was elected for technical innovation spanning materials development, atomically controlled thin film fabrication and commercialization in microelectronics and energy generation and storage.

Narayan is the John C.C. Fan Distinguished Chair Professor in the department of materials science and engineering at North Carolina State University in Raleigh. He was selected for contributions in heteroepitaxial film growth by laser ablation in large misfit systems and new materials.

Panday, a principal engineer of GSI Environmental Inc. in Herndon, Va., was chosen for the development of computer codes for solving complex groundwater problems.

Tayur, the Ford Distinguished Research Chair Professor of Operations Management at Pittsburgh, Pa.-based Carnegie Mellon University’s Tepper School of Business, was chosen for developing and commercializing innovative methods to optimize supply chain systems.

Varghese is the chancellor’s professor in the department of computer science at the University of California in Los Angeles. He was elected for network algorithmics that make the Internet faster, more secure and more reliable.

The 106 new members will be formally inducted at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., Oct. 8.

Bookmark and Share |

You may also access this article through our web-site http://www.lokvani.com/

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Copyrights Help