About Us Contact Us Help




Asian American Commissioners Sworn In

Ranjani Saigal

State Treasurer Deborah B. Goldberg administered the oath of office and officially inducted the newly nominated Asian American Commissioners on The swearing-in ceremony was held on Friday, February 17, 2017, at 2:30pm to 3:00pm at Treasurer Goldberg's Office.

In addition to the commissioners, family and friends came to attend the event. The Indian community was well represented by community leaders Anu Chitrapu, Gauri Banerjee, Mukesh Chatter, Priti Chatter, Ra Mahadev and others. Family members of Anil Saigal and Jonji Ananth were also present.

The event opened with an introduction by Bora Chiemruom, the Executive Director of the Commission. This was followed by a welcome by the Elisa Choi, Chairperson. “Often State Commissions are accused of not doing too much. However the Asian American Commission is an exception and has worked hard to create an impact,” said Choi. Treasurer Deb Goldberg, whose office serves as the host for the commission expressed her delight at welcoming the new commissioners. “I have always close ties with the Asian American community,” said Goldberg. Commissioners Mr. Jonjy Ananth, Dr. Loan Thi Doa, Ms. Nina Liang and Dr. Anil Saigal were sworn in and the reappointment of Ms. Lianna Kushi and Mr. Gilbert Ho was acknowledged. 

The ceremony ended with a vote of thanks by the Vice Chairperson, Nick Chau. We look forward to seeing the commission's work in the upcoming year.

Bookmark and Share |

You may also access this article through our web-site http://www.lokvani.com/

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Copyrights Help