About Us Contact Us Help




IAGB Republic Day Celebration 2017

Ranjani Saigal

(This article is sponsored by Masala Art)

The India Association of Greater Boston hosted the 68th Republic Day Celebrations on Saturday, Jan. 28 at the Burlington High School in Burlington, MA.  Besides the cultural program,  the event was expanded from previous years to include competitions for children and a very popular Anthakshari competition. 

The competitions for the children included Science, Poetry Writing, Kite-Making, Essay, Art. Geography Bee and Chess. Shitanshu Shekar, Syed Ali Rizvi, Sunayana Kachroo, Kailash Chintanamani, Praveena Naduthota, Java Joshi, Ashok Jakati, Kavyashree Mallana helped coordinate the competitions. Following the competitions the event moved into the traditional cultural showcase featuring songs and dances from various parts of India. 

The showcase  opened with a welcome speech by Avinash Patil,  Secretary IAGB. Following national anthems by Noura Khan, Debarati Mukherjee and  Reshma Nair ,  IAGB director Jeyanthi Ghatraju took the stage as the Emcee of the cultural program. 

Aatma Tones, coordinated by Harshitha Krishnan was followed by Vande Mataram  coordinated by Purbi Rana and Dhanak Dhanak Dhol by coordinated by Smriti Gupta.  A presentation on Saheli was made by Supriya Saurab.  Baraiya coordinated by Jasmine Shah,  Patriotic Medley coordinated by Anitha Krishnasamy was followed by Suman Adisesh’s students’ presentation, Dance of Shiva .  Jaya Voruganti, IAGB President addressed the gathering.  

Kamal Mishra, former President of IAGB was honored.  The second half of the showcase included Bombay to Boston coordinated by Darshana Jani, Salute to Indian Army – Jai Jawan coordinated by Nikita Rao, Bhoomikkoru Charama Geetham coordinated by Kavitha Sreekesh an Sreekesh NK,  promo for an upcoming IAGB play, What India Loves coordinated by Archana Gorur and Jyothi Setty, Bollywood Couples Medley by Shaila Verma, Chak de coordinated by Bina Negandhi and a SETU presentation coordinated by Vasudha Kudrimoti and Shirin Bakre. 

The program ended with a vote of thanks by treasurer Sanjay Gowda. 

The theme of the showcase was Unity in Diversity. Consul General  Riva Ganguly presented the keynote address.  

The highlight of the evening was the very competitive Antakshari.  Four finalist teams competed and Team Atom Bomb (Namita Deshpande and Parag Singh) won the competition. 

A lovely event that made reminded Indians of their roots.

Bookmark and Share |

You may also access this article through our web-site http://www.lokvani.com/

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Copyrights Help