About Us Contact Us Help




Barry Goldwater Scholarship Awards For 2016-2017

Press Release

Shivansh Chawla of MA, Siddhartha V. Jayanti of NH and Ashvin Swaminathan of CA and Harvard awarded the Barry Goldwater Scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Massachusetts native and Cornell University student Shivansh Chawla was also chosen as a Goldwater Scholar. The chemistry and biology major hopes to earn a doctorate in chemical biology and has a career goal of researching chemical applications to biological systems and teach at the university level.

Ashvin Swaminathan, a Cupertino, Calif., native is currently a mathematics and physics major at Harvard. He hopes to earn his doctorate in math and then pursue a career of conducting research in number theory, algebraic geometry and mathematical physics, as well as teach at the university level.

Scholar Vikas Daggubati, a native of New Jersey, is a student at Johns Hopkins University where he is pursuing a biophysics degree. He intends to pursue a doctorate degree in molecular biology and then go on to conduct research in seamless genetic editing in application to genetic diseases.

More than a dozen Indian American and South Asian American students throughout the United States were among the 252 recipients of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year.
The scholarships, announced in March by Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation board chair Peggy Goldwater Clay, is given to undergraduate sophomores and juniors, focusing on math, science and engineering, in the U.S.
The scholars, pared down from a list of 1,150 nominations from 415 colleges and universities, were chosen based on academic merit. Of the 252 chosen, 144 are men, 108 are women, nearly all of whom intend to seek a doctorate degree.

Goldwater Scholars will each receive either one- or two-year scholarships of up to a maximum of $7,500 per year that will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books and room and board.

Recent recipients of the scholarship have also been awarded with Rhodes Scholarships, Marshall Awards, Churchill Scholarships and numerous distinguished fellowships, according to the foundation news release.

The program honors Sen. Barry Goldwater and was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering.

The 18 Indian American and South Asian American scholars are represented in 14 states. Texas and Illinois have the most representation with three scholars each. Alabama, California, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia and Wisconsin each have one Indian American or South Asian American scholar.


Bookmark and Share |

You may also access this article through our web-site http://www.lokvani.com/

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Copyrights Help